I Won’t Give Up

This song has been out for a couple of months now, but as I was driving to an appointment last week it came on the radio and just STRUCK ME……as in, IMPRINTED these words on my soul!  I couldn’t get it out of my head and the first thing I did when I got home was download the song and then watch every version available on You Tube.

I see that you’ve come so far
To be right where you are
How old is your soul? 

It reminds me….

That love isn’t perfect but is always real.
That I can give my love to those who don’t understand the value of it, but still I love them anyway.
That the stars I gaze upon from my desert backyard are little love messages from those who came before me and whose presence I feel in times of need.

I spent a week in Manhattan with my Love and while it was Ah-Mazing it was also so very draining…..The people, the energy and the pace at which they travel…..Overwhelming.

So for now, I am cocooning and looking for the meaning of life….my life.

I leave you with some photos of one the best trips I’ve ever taken:

Times Square

9/11 Memorial Waterfalls

Woody flirting in Times Square

Northern Spy Food Company

Park Avenue homes

Times Square Naked Cowboy

View across Central Park

Max our Central Park host

Waiting for the D Train

Treats from Bouchon Bakery

Because I love this song so much I’m giving you another version…..This one just as moving as the first.

Cheers to you!

17 thoughts on “I Won’t Give Up

  1. Hi Cheryl! I just read your “about me” page and you totally need to just get up and move to Napa. You belong in Northern CA. You’ve got that Cali laid back vibe. My husband and I moved here 17 years ago and we’re so grateful that we did. We moved here sans jobs, but knew the universe would provide, and it did. We are living in our dream place and honestly, when the kids are off to college I want to move further north like Sonoma, Healdsburg or Pointe Reyes. I want some land and to live the simpler and quieter life. I love NY as well, but you’re right, it’s so fast paced and hectic. That worked for me when I was younger, but as I get older I find I need and like my space and I like life when it’s slower paced. I want to just “be” and enjoy the present, and you can’t do that when you’re racing around trying to keep up with the pace of everyone else.
    Anyway, I’ve had days where I hear a song that I may have heard 100 times before, but all of the sudden the words speak to me and its as if the song was written for me in that moment. I love that you found your song and that you shared it with us.
    xoxo,
    Jackie

    • Hi Jackie!

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing from the heart! Your words brought tears to my eyes and I felt as though I had met a kindred soul. 2012 ended on such a lovely note for me and hubby, with many manifested desires falling into place. Can’t wait to see what 2013 brings! Hope your new year is a blessed one 🙂

  2. Love the photos! They capture the energy and magic of New York – even naked guitar man! We saw Jason Mraz perform this song with Christina Perri at the heavenly Red Rocks amphitheatre last month. It was a fantastic concert!

  3. An old friend of mine lives in Manhattan and wants me to come visit. I’m not sure I can handle the pace and the noise. I’m glad you had a good trip!

    • You have to visit!! We stayed in Times Square, which I would NOT recommend but the rest of the city is Amazing! When you pick up local habits (how to walk in a crowd, how to cross the street) it makes the trip so much easier. If you like art, you have to go to The Met and a Broadway show is a must! Central Park is crazy if you’re a tourist but it’s beautiful! The 9/11 Memorial is moving beyond words…..And the food – the food is wonderful!! Call your friend – plan that trip 😉

I would love to hear from you!

