My True Meaning of Memorial Day

Being a spouse of someone who works grocery retail and working retail myself, we as a family, have never had this weekend off.  As I was working I was observing families shopping together and talking of bar-b-que plans.  I felt a twinge of envy and wished we were off for these three days and I started pondering the true meaning of Memorial Day.

Memorial Day  – formerly  know as Decoration Day – originated after the American Civil War to commemorate the Union soldiers who died in that war.  It now honors all men and women who died while serving in the United States Armed Forces.

My father is a Navy vet having served in Vietnam and my son-in-law is active duty Navy. Thankfully both of them are still alive and well.  I want to take this opportunity to thank them for the selfless service they have given to their country and the personal sacrifices they have made to make sure the rest of us are free to enjoy this beautiful place we call home.

So as you are enjoying your grilled yummies and splashing around the pool, (I live in Arizona!) remember a few things……hug someone you love today, tell your friends how much they mean to you, give thanks that you can walk about freely anywhere you choose and don’t be shy about putting your hand over your heart when facing the American flag.  We have all this because of the sacrifices made by those who came before us.

I’m feeling a bit sentimental today so I leave you with a thing of beauty…..a rose.  Roses can be overrated but this one in particular has special meaning to me.  This was taken by my husband on a recent well deserved vacation.  He is the family photographer and he has an eye for flowers.  To me it expresses many of the emotions I am feeling today – Love, Gratitude, Humility and a sense of belonging to something bigger than who I am.

Thank you to all who have served in the United States Armed Forces!

Cheryl

6 thoughts on “My True Meaning of Memorial Day

  1. Mom, that was a beautiful post. Mark was really touched that you would give such a cool shout out to him. Thank you. ❤

    • It’s a huge sacrifice – from a spouse as well. I’m working on post about Hoffer’s. Be on the lookout!

  2. As the grandmother of a soldier ready to deploy I am grateful for your touching and heartfelt post. This weekend is even more deeply felt and meaningful. Considering our recent loss it also touches me that you remind us to let our loved ones know we care and never take them for granted.

    Hugs, Debbie

    • I can remember when she was a young teen – how time flies! We will be praying for her safety and speedy return home. I’m so sorry about Bogie…..I can’t even express how sad that is. Hugs to you my sweet friend.

I would love to hear from you!

